What is Your View of God?

How do you view God?  It has been proven that sometimes the way we view or have viewed our own earthly fathers tends to be the way we view God.

If you had an earthly father that didn’t really care about you, you may view God as someone who is out there, but doesn’t really care about you as a person.  Or maybe you don’t think He’s out there at all.

If you had an earthly father who was abusive, you may find it hard to trust God.

If you had an earthly father who wouldn’t let you do ANYTHING, you may think God doesn’t want you to have any fun.

If you has an earthly father who made you feel like you couldn’t do anything right, you may struggle to “please” God, feeling like being the person you are is not enough for Him either.  No matter now much good you do or how involved you are in church, He’s looking down saying “couldn’t you have done better?”

It’s weird, because I had a great childhood with great parents.  I don’t know if it’s just my personality and the fact that I’m a (recovering) people pleaser, but I have always struggled with my own view of God.  It’s incorrect, that’s why I’m working on it.  For some reason (and it’s not because of my earthly father, because he was nothing like this) sometimes I slip into the view of God being a punisher.

He’s just punishing me for something I’ve done wrong.  And a lot of the time I cannot figure out what it is that I did wrong, but there must have been something, because “this” happened.  And I know viewing God as someone who just sits up there and judges our rights and wrongs all day long is incorrect.  I know he is a God of love and forgiveness (and I know he is a God of judgement too, in the right terms).  But that still doesn’t make me stop saying “Ok, what did I do this time for this to happen”.

You can only imagine what suddenly becoming a single mom can do to a person who already struggles with this view of God.

But you know what, it was the perfect opportunity for me to realize, that sometimes life just happens.  Sometimes life is just out of our control, and as much as we give it to God, He will only work with what is given Him.  He’s not sitting up there punishing me for something I apparently did wrong.  Sometimes we are wronged, and what looks like punishment in the present moment, is really God getting us through what life has thrown our way and protecting us from further pain.

And for that I am thankful.

My view of God has changed a lot.  It continues to change.  I can now truly believe what I say & know God is like.  I’m not fully there yet, but I’m no longer where I was!

What is your view of God?  Your past does not define who God is.  The way you view people here on earth does not define who God is.

I love this video.  It describes just a small bit of who God is.  He is more than we could ever imagine.  Discover who he REALLY is:

Leave a Reply

