3 Questions

I’ve been reading Kevin Leman’s book “Single Parenting that Works: Six Keys to Raising Happy, Healthy Children in a Single Parent Home.”  I’m only on chapter 3, and already it’s been an awesome read.  But why wouldn’t it be…I have yet to not like something Kevin Leman has put out.  He writes good stuff.

I know I haven’t gotten around to doing a list of helpful books/studies for families, but when I do this will be on that list.

I wanted to share 3 questions he says single parents should ask themselves, because I think they are questions that every parent should ask themselves weither they are single or not.

Take a moment and ask yourself these 3 important questions in regards to what you want your life to be like 1, 5 and 10 years from now:

1.  What do you want your home environment to be like (If you could choose your home environment, what would it look like)?

2.  What kind of person do you want to be (What characteristics or qualities would you want to have)?

3.  What kind of person do you want your child to be (Do you know who your child is, what are their strengths, what are their weaknesses.  How can you best support your child)?

Those are huge questions.  Take the time to think about it, write it down, talk about it with your spouse (or if you are a single parent, discuss with a friend!).  If you don’t take the time to sit down and figure out what you want your life to be like, you’ll just end up in the same place you are now 10 years down the road.

I will be discussing this with my friend Jean the next time we do hot drinks.  I can’t wait.  Maybe I’ll post about what we discuss some 🙂

Leave a Reply

