Ground Beef Burgers

I use ground beef a LOT.  I use it for spaghetti, goulash, meatballs, hamburgers, etc.  When it goes on sale at any store I will make an effort to get out and stock up.  The last few months it seems to be on sale everywhere and all the time.  I had a good stock of it in my freezer so I felt like I didn’t have to go every time and get more.  But, as it usually goes, by the time my stock is down to 3-4 meal size bags stores stop putting it on sale!  It happens EVERY TIME!  And I refuse to pay full price for ground beef…or any meat.

I discovered over the last month that Sobey’s always has meat marked down (usually 50%off!).  It’s because the expiration date is rapidly approaching.  But, because I freeze everything for later, it’s wonderful.  I get marked down meat, freeze it, and take it out when needed for a meal.  Tuesday evenings I make a trip into Nepean to attend a program…perfect opportunity to drop in Sobey’s on the way home and get my meat (they also have a good “non-sale” price on turkey deli meat)!  Last night I went in for my usual walk through, and discovered that the ground beef was on sale in store (not in flyer).  Great timing!!  I picked up enough to stock up since I don’t know when it will be on sale again.

SIDE NOTE:  Fresh Co had meat marked down this week too, 50% off!  I got several steaks, a roast, sausages & breakfast sausages!

I separated most of my ground beef into meal size bags, but I saved half a pack to make hamburgers.  I’ve never tried this before, and I got 8 burgers for the freezer.  Perfect for the summer church BBQ’s after church.  I took some pictures.  Here are the burgers I made:

I mixed together ground beef, marble cheese, green onion & Epicure Pizza Spices

This is my green onion that I bought, used and re-grew!

Patty.  I got these containers from a restaurant.  I can’t remember which one, but I was obviously there twice with O and needed to take home his food, because I have 2 containers.  They were perfect for this.

I got 4 patties into each container, and I should be able to easily take 2 out if I only need 2 burgers.

I love knowing I have meals in the freezer ready to go.  I can’t wait until our Freezer Meal get together at the church so I can have more done up!

Leave a Reply

