14 Weeks…the start of a new trimester

Yesterday I finished my first trimester!  Today is my first day of trimester duex 😉

Jon and I are going in on Monday for our 2nd appointment and we are suppose to be hearing the heartbeat, if the little one will let us 😉  I’m pretty excited!  Jon took the day off on Monday so he could go in with me…I thought it would be nice for him to be there for it.

This has been quite a week.  Found out I have a UTI (Urinary Tract Infection) and was given medication…about 4 days into taking my pills my lab results came back and the doctor called to tell me the meds I’m on won’t do anything to help me so they put me on new ones and I had to start from day 1 again, sigh.  Looks like being pregnant makes you more prone to things like that and it doesn’t help in that I have only 1 1/2 kidney’s…so in other words no surprise if I have problems through out the next 6 months with this stuff, and let me tell you, it is not fun.

Baby Billings is being covered with hair this week, fine hair that apparently disappears before birth.  So this week he/she will become our little gorilla 😉  According to Baby Center the baby can now grasp, squint, frown, grimace and even suck his/her thumb!  He/She is 9cm long and weighs 1 1/2 ounces.  Later tonight I’ll hopefully have some belly pictures up…once Jon gets home to take them, lol.  Here is a picture that shows what baby looks like and how small it is right now in the womb:

fetaldev14

One of the reasons reaching the 2nd trimester is so wonderful is that your chances of a miscarriage goes down significantly.  Although, with every pregnancy there is still a chance that anything could happen at any time.  Our hearts go out today to a couple from our church and their family.  Their daughter was suppose to deliver their baby any day now.  Tuesday they found out the baby no longer had a heartbeat and the very next day she delivered her baby boy knowing that she would be laying him to rest later this week.  Our hearts ache for them as they go through this trail of sadness.  So today I dedicate this post to them in knowing that we serve a God that is compassionate, caring and full of grace.  May His strength shine upon you this day and may He provide you the comfort knowing that your baby boy is in His hands for eternity.  You and your family are in our prayers.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Dorothy Davis on May 29, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    Growing more each day. Can’t wait to see your belly pictures. I will be showing them to nan& pop.

    So sad about James & Ginette’s grandbaby. They have been on my heart & mind all day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

