I Made It!

Tomorrow I will be 12 weeks!  This has been my first milestone and I got here!  I don’t know why but 12, 20, and 30 are 3 milestones according to me…I think it’s just the way I have it broken up in my head.

I think 12 weeks is a biggie because that’s when the baby begins to actually look like a human…you know how in previous weeks they look kinda alien-like…well 12 weeks is when they throw off that alien facial look and actually start to look “real”! 😉 (at 14 weeks we’ll get to hear the heartbeat which is pretty special!)

20 weeks is when I should be getting my first ultrasound (around that time) so that will be the first time I get to see our little baby…and that’s the half way point…20 is half of 40.

30 weeks just means I’m almost there…only 10 weeks left to go…the summer months is over…my work life gets increasingly busy this year right around that time…30 weeks is the milestone of insanity…the whole “ahhh, baby is almost here, I’ve got so much to do!”

Anyways, Jon and I are leaving tomorrow for Ohio to attend Chris & Rachel’s wedding.  We’re going to be gone all weekend.  I’m excited for Chris & Rachel but I’m also excited to get to spend this time on the road with Jon…I love travelling with him.  So I thought I’d share my week 12 with you today since by the time I get back I’ll be almost 13 weeks.

Baby Billings is now 2-3 inches and is kicking & stretching (although at this point I cannot feel it).  All major organs are in place and certain things like brain, nerves & muscles are starting to function.  He/She is about the size of a lime (some websites say a large plum).  Get this…the pituitary gland is starting to produce the hormones that enables my baby to have his/her own babies some day…isn’t that crazy to think about?!  Baby Billings isn’t even born yet and already it’s body is thinking about 21 or so years down the road from now!  I think that show’s God’s amazing creation!

Here’s a picture of what our cute, human looking baby looks like at 12 weeks:

week12

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Dorothy Davis on May 13, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Amazing, God’s creation. Can’t wait to see this amazing creation.
    Nanny Loves you

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jean on May 14, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    I didn’t realize they were lime sized already. You should have corrected me last night. Maybe I am feeling kicks…. I doubt it very much, but still then, what is that feeling?

    Reply

    • Posted by Pamela on May 20, 2009 at 9:35 pm

      Jean, apparently it is not uncommon to feel kicks at this stage when you’ve already had a baby. Not sure why only “if you’ve had a baby before” but that’s what they say!

      Reply

  3. Posted by Dad or "Grandpa" on May 15, 2009 at 1:39 am

    Stop it, your getting me tooooooooo excited. Love ya and really love him/her whichever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

