Creamy Pasta

I like magazines…

I really like food magazines…

My favorite food magazine by far is a free one I get every quarter of the year by Kraft called What’s Cooking.  I use to get them come when I lived in Fredericton but when I moved I could NOT get the website to understand that I had a new address.  Well finally I got my “What’s Cooking” today in the mail for the first time since almost 2 years ago!  It’s free so if any of you Canadian’s would like to get it just go to http://www.kraft.ca and there should be a place there to sign up for it.

Most food magazines have gone all “healthy”…you know, all those recipes where half of the ingredients are NOT in your pantry, and chances are you didn’t even know that it existed.  Seriously, I’ve never seen that “veggie” in MY grocery store.  Well, that’s what I like about this magazine…the food looks sooooo good, and realistic and (mostly) healthier and oh my gosh, I have ALL of those ingredients!  I just want to eat the pages…especially the desserts!

Well, today I got my magazine and it had a recipe in there that I had all the ingredients for and it looked really delicious.  So I changed my lonely supper plans (Jon’s at work) and wallah, it’s in the oven as I write this and may I add it looks just as good as the magazine shows it to.  It looks so good that I thought I would share it with you all!  Well, looks like their website is down…but don’t fear…I will type it out here…and add a picture later!

Creamy Pasta

1 1/2 cups multi-grain rotini pasta, uncooked (I used a different kind of pasta that I had)

1 small bunch broccoli, cut into florets (3 cups)

1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into small bite-size pieces

1/2 cup chicken broth

1/4 cup Kraft Philly Cream Cheese

3/4 cup Kraft Mozzarella Cheese

2 Tbsp Kraft Parmesan Grated Cheese

DIRECTIONS:

Heat oven to 375.  Cook pasta in large saucepan as directed on package, adding broccoli the last 3 min.

Meanwhile, heat skillet on medium-high heat and add chicken.  Cook chicken 3 min. or until no longer pink, stirring freq.

Stir in broth and let simmer 3 min. or until chicken is done

Add cream cheese; cook and stir on low heat 1 min. or until melted.  Add 1/2 cup mozza cheese

Drain pasta and broccoli and add to chicken mixture.  Mix lightly.

Spoon into 8 inch square pan and cover

Bake 15 min. Sprinkle with remaining mozza and Parmesan cheese.  Bake 3 min. uncovered, or until melted.

Let stand 5 min.

Mine is coming out of the oven as I write this…ENJOY!!!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Jean on March 31, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    There’s no picture coming is there? Was this good? DId it make a lot or just enough for the two of you and then leftovers for one? I need more info before I take the adventure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

