Going Green

So, I’m reading this book about going green…not because I plan on becoming this full out earth friendly environmentalist…but I figure there has to be some things in my lifestyle that I can change to help the environment and why wouldn’t I?

Well, the very first chapter talks about going organic.  I’ve heard pro’s and con’s of changing to organic…here are a few that I’ve heard:

Pros:

The animals are more humanly brought up (large living quarters, grass to eat (not processed junk), etc)

The food does not have any pesticides, chemicals & therefore are more healthy for your body

The food is raised/grown in a more environmentally friendly environment

 

Cons:

The cost of buying organic food is expensive

Because there are no pesticides/chemicals the food stands a higher chance of getting a bug and being passed on to you

 

Sooo, I was wondering what any of you people that may read my blog thought.  Do you eat organic?  Do you think it is an important switch?  What are your pros or cons?  I am considering switching some things to organic…and I’d just like to have a well balanced idea of it before (if) I do…

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rick on February 18, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Green is the only way to go! I’ve figured out this a long time ago!! Never give that up! I haven’t and never will!!!! Pros and Cons … well, the pros are alot better than the cons! The cons will work themselves out in time with patience!!!!!

    Rick -there is power in unity-

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jean on February 18, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    Yeah, my only issue with “organic” meat is that to be “organic you can’t give the animals antibiotics or any other meds for possible disease they carry. If I was going to go anything (which I’m not) I’d go “free range” because they are humane pesticide free and blah blah blah but they don’t have as much disease because they are allowed to treat their animals. I get this information from my sister in law whose mother farms and is into that whole scene.
    Happy carbon footprint reducing!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Pamela on February 19, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    If you are interested in going “green” a good book to read is “Ecoholic” by Adria Vasil.
    It’s very eye opening and quite scary. Basically everything is bad for you!

    Reply

  4. Posted by garythepink on March 24, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Green, what exactly does it mean, and am I somehow accountable for the planet to be not so green? I already know the answer to that but I am not yet totally committed to stop eating processed food from the local groceries. we buy as much “organic” salad fixins, and fibre breakfast, and I buy organic free trade coffee, when I am in the mood. Its hard to find an organic hot dog or french fries though. I guess that’s not what you mean by going green, is it? see this web site for a tongue in cheek discourse on deciding what to eat when you haven’t really planned very well. http://garythepink.wordpress.com/2009/02/08/when-you-are-hungry-right-now-what-do-you-eat/

    Although I have found cooking web sites like this one to be inspiring.
    http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/lentil-almond-stirfry-recipe.html

    and then there is the whole kosher style of eating that may be a challenge to us, but it has a soft spot in my heart for a more humane, clean, slant towards being without as much factory preservatives , and it has 7 year crop rotation cycles, with letting the land go fallow (resting) period between cycles, thing that I would support.

    how’s that for wishy washy comment?

    Garythepink

    Reply

Leave a Reply

