If blood makes you queasy, don’t read any further…

So I’ve developed an issue the past couple years that I’ve NEVER had to deal with my ENTIRE life…nose bleeds.  I don’t know if the air is changing and affecting my nose, but two years ago I started having nose bleeds…mostly in the winter.

Well, tonight was my first nose bleed of the season.  And it came at the most inconvenient time…20 minutes before my Christmas practice.  I WAS planning on going 20 minutes early to get a couple things together (thankfully I had set up earlier in the day), when all of a sudden I felt a rush of what I thought was snot run down my nose (I did just get over a cold).  I rushed to the bathroom and BLEW, that’s right, blew my nose into the tissue at which point I thought to myself “that was REALLY dumb, I bet you that is blood” and sure enough, as I took the tissue away from my nose the blood began to pour from my nose…

Oh, but it doesn’t stop there.  So after filling a couple tissues, getting blood on my shirt and all over the toliet I decided that since my OTHER nostril is running I should try and blow just that nostril.  At that point I dislodged the blood clot in my nose…which of course was starting to hold back the blood…and therefore started the nose bleed ALL over again.

At this point Jon has “kindly” reminded me that we are going to be late for practice and so after cleaning the bathroom and with tissue in nose I get ready and head to the church.  Half of the program was spent with this tissue in my nose as the bottom picture will show (yes that is me trying to sing with the tissue in nose).

Oh and you would think that this would be the end of my nose bleeding story.  But nay, it is not!  I finally am able to take the tissue out for the rest of the evening and just as I am getting ready to leave the church all of a sudden I feel this lump being swallowed…and sure enough the 2nd clot that has keep the blood back has disappeared, this time to my stomache…and sure enough, the blood began to once again flow.  Thankfully I had a tissue in hand to stick in my nose again and off Jon and I went to Timmy’s Drive-Thru.

My nose bleed HAS stopped but all in all I’ve dripped blood on my shirt, sprayed blood on the toliet and floor and swallowed a clot…gross, gross, gross!

 

nose bleed

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jean on December 12, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    Nice of whoever it was that took the picture. I’d have blamed Jon but he’s in the background so I guess he’s off the hook. Did they start when you moved to Ontario? Maybe it’s Ontario’s way of welcoming you to our really crappy winter. Hopefully tonight you’ll be free and clear of the nose bleeds.

    Reply

  2. Posted by dawnbo on December 14, 2008 at 3:31 am

    So sad I missed it LOL

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jean on December 15, 2008 at 2:00 am

    Did you know I can make the snow fall indifferent directions just by moving my mouse? Uber cool!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Diana on December 15, 2008 at 3:20 am

    That’s how it works! I was wondering the other day how the snow decides what direction to go and how come it changes….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

