Ikea Roman Blinds & Not So Bright Mom

I’m not really sure where I read this yesterday but it really made me frustrated…

Ikea is recalling their Alvine and Iris Roman Blinds…that’s not that part that got me irked…I do not own any Roman Blinds from Ikea.  The reason for recalling the blinds is what did it.  Apparently a child had strangled to death on the chord.  Now before you think I’m so uncompassionate over a child’s death, I think it’s absolutely tragic that this happened and sad that this child lost it’s life…all due to the face that it’s mother placed the crib/play pin next to the blind and it’s long cord!

Seriously, was that too difficult to figure out…blind with long cord + crib with baby in it = possible strangulation…

I know parents all make mistakes…I mean can you tell me of one parent that has not made some form of a mistake while their child was growing up?  And I’m sure they are all thankful that their mistake didn’t cause something this tragic.

My problem lies in the fact that rather than taking responsibility for the error they’re going to blame the company and recall all roman blinds?  And therein lies our culture…too busy passing the blame to take responsibility for our own mistakes…how sad!

So, next time you pick up a blind from Ikea make sure you look to see if there’s a sticker on the back that warns:

CAUTION – Blind may cause strangulation…when put near a child in a crib…or any other time…with any other person.

Leave a Reply

