Nompumelelo Mkhafu

Last week when I was traveling for Bethany on the CCU Tour I deciced to sponsor a child.  Her name is Nompumelelo Makhafu…I’m not sure how you pronounce that but she is the cutest child!  She makes me want to fly to Africa just so I can give her a HUGE hug…hopefully someday I will get that chance.

Brett Ulman was our speaker that week and he brought along children through World Vision…well he didn’t bring acutal children..just the cards with pictures.  The children he brings with him live in an Aids community because someone they live with is infected with HIV.  As he spoke I realized I needed to do so much more and I thought what a great place to start.  I can’t wait to send letters and cards and gifts!  I’m also so proud of my husband, he wants to give 3 little pigs to someone for Christmas 🙂

I’ve been thinking a lot ever since my trip about how we live in such a needy world.  God sent his Son into a needy world right around this time and he offered an immense amount of hope, freedom and healing.  I don’t know about you, but for someone who follows this kind of Savior and strives to be just like Him, I sit around and do nothing FAR too often.  I also spend my money on stupid things FAR too much.

I think of communities in Africa, South America and Asia…where a mother has to chose which one of her children will live and which one will die because she doesn’t have enough food for both.  I think of the children in the Congo these past couple weeks and wish we lived in a world where we could stop the violence and abuse there.  How do I share the healing and hope of Christ with those that I have no means to get to?  I want to stop the suffering…I want to show them life!

There has to be more that we can do…but until I figure out how to save the world I cannot wait to send love upon love to Nompumelelo Mkhafu!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jean on November 24, 2008 at 1:40 am

    Have you seen Beyond Borders? It’s a movie we have, I’m sure I could loan it to you and you’d never watch it. But it’s about a doctor who’s trying to help in a variety of places (Ethiopia, then the Viet Cong then a Russian type place) and after I watched I pretty much felt like crap about myself and myselfishness.

    Oh, but I think Word Vision and the like should start bringing children with them. Possibly much more effective.

    Reply

  2. Posted by dianaslbillings on November 24, 2008 at 1:57 am

    I have not seen it…I would prob. watch it just not sure how quick I would be in watching it, haha. I’ll finish the 3 you recently gave us and then we’ll go from there!

    And yes, real children would really be more effective…maybe I should write them with the idea… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

